Amy Clampitt

Welcome To Amy

explore the life & Works of Amy Clampitt
and learn about the Amy Clampitt
Residency & Memorial Reading


Her life

After publishing her first collection of poems at the age of sixty-three (The Kingfisher, 1983), Amy Clampitt quickly entered the canon as one of America’s major poets, receiving a Guggenheim Fellowship (1982), an Academy of American Poets Fellowship (1984), and a MacArthur Fellowship (1992) before her death in 1994.


Her Works

Amy Clampitt’s five poetry collections, all published by Alfred A. Knopf, include The Kingfisher (1983), What the Light Was Like (1985), Archaic Figure (1987), Westward (1990), and A Silence Opens (1994). Knopf has since published her Collected Poems and Selected Poems. A selection of her letters, Love, Amy, was published in 2005 by Columbia University Press.


Each year, In association with the Berkshire Taconic Community Foundation, the Amy Clampitt Fund hosts 1-2 residents for 6-12 month periods at Amy’s home near Lenox, MA, as a place ”to foster the study and promotion of poetry.”


The Fund also hosts a distinguished poet for the yearly “Amy Clampitt Memorial Reading” at Edith Wharton’s Home.

Entering Lenox.jpg